How to factory reset your MacBook prior to offering or offering it away

3
How to factory reset your MacBook prior to offering or offering it away

If you’re prepared to offer, trade-in, or hand out your Mac or clean it for another factor there are various actions to the procedure depending upon what Mac you have and what variation of macOS it’s running. Significantly, macOS Monterey consists of a helpful brand-new eliminate alternative like we’ve had on iOS for several years. Read along for how to factory reset your MacBook and other Macs.

Before you factory reset your Mac, make certain that you have a present backup

And if you’re running macOS Big Sur or earlier you’ll desire indication out of iCloud, iMessage, and FaceTime. It does not harmed to sign out of any other accounts under System Preferences → Internet Accounts, too. You might desire to unpair any Bluetooth gadgets.

If you intend on offering your MacBook with a butterfly keyboard by yourself, it might be an excellent concept to have it changed totally free if you have not currently. We’ve likewise got a comprehensive guide on all the very best choices to trade-in your Mac.

How to factory reset your MacBook (Mac desktops too)

Erase a Mac running macOS Monterey

macOS Monterey provides a brand new Erase Assistant for 2018 and later on Macs. If you have not updated currently, it’s most convenient to factory reset a Mac that’s running Monterey.

  1. Make a fresh backup of your Mac
  2. Open System Preferences
  3. Click System Preferences in the menu bar > Erase All Contents and Settings
  4. Follow the triggers to totally eliminate your Mac
  5. Like iOS, the brand-new eliminate procedure in macOS Monterey manages whatever to completely clean your Mac
  6. The presently set up macOS variation will stay

Here’s how the procedure looks:

How to factory reset MacBooks

You can find out more about the brand-new Erase Assistant in macOS Monterey in Apple’s assistance file here

Note: If your M1/M1 Pro/M1 Max MacBook will not launch correctly, you might require to bring back or restore it.

Erase a Mac running macOS Big Sur or earlier

  1. Make a fresh backup of your Mac
  2. Sign out of iCloud (System Preferences > Apple ID > Overview > Sign Out)
  3. Sign out of iMessage and FaceTime (in Preferences for each app)
  4. Reset NVRAM (see listed below for information on actions 4-7)
  5. Boot into macOS Recovery
  6. Erase your start-up disk
  7. Reinstall a fresh copy of macOS

Reset NVRAM

Apple notes in a assistance file that resetting the NVRAM is necessary to do for Intel Macs without the Apple T2 Security Chip as it eliminates user settings and brings back security defaults. Here’s how to do it:

Shut down your Mac, then turn it on and right away press and hold these 4 secrets together: Option, Command, P, and R. Release the secrets after about 20 seconds.

Boot into macOS Recovery

On Apple Silicon Macs

  • Power down your Mac if it’s on
  • Press and hold the power button to turn it on and continue to hold it up until you see the start-up choices
  • Choose macOS Recovery
  • Select Reinstall macOS
  • Follow the triggers

On Intel Macs

For Intel Macs, macOS Recovery will set up a various variation of macOS depending upon the crucial mix you utilize when launching your Mac (no setup discs or macOS packed onto an external drive is required). Hold down among the following essential mixes right after powering on your Mac, and release when you see the world or Apple logo design.

  • ⌘ R (Command R) = Reinstall the most recent macOS that was set up on your Mac, without updating to a later variation.
  • ⌥ ⌘ R (Option Command R) = Upgrade to the current macOS that works with your Mac

Apple notes on its assistance page, “if you’re offering or distributing a Mac that is utilizing OS X El Capitan or earlier, utilize Option-Command-R to make certain that the setup isn’t related to your Apple ID.” This likewise sets up the most recent offered software application.

  • how to factory reset MacBook Pro walkthrough 1
  • how to factory reset MacBook Pro walkthrough 2

Loading time for macOS Recovery will differ depending upon your web connection. When the procedure is total, you’ll see the macOS Utilities window.

how to factory reset MacBook Pro walkthrough

Erase your start-up disk (tough drive/solid state drive)

  1. Click Disk Utility in the energies window, then click Continue.
  2. Select your start-up disk in the sidebar of Disk Utility (click the leading product like Apple SSD, not the volume name, Macintosh HD)
  3. Click Erase in the leading location of the energy window
  4. Enter a name for the disk (Macintosh HD is the default on a brand-new Mac), usage Mac OS Extended (Journaled) for format, and GUID Partition Map for plan or APFS, whatever is suggested by Disk Utility
  5. Click Erase (as soon as total, in the menu bar click Disk Utility Quit Disk Utility to go back to the macOS Utilities window)

Finish factory reset by re-installing macOS

  1. Back on the primary macOS Utilities window, click Reinstall macOS
  2. Follow the triggers and choose which disk you ‘d like to set up macOS (if you have several drives)
  3. Plug in your power cable television if you’re utilizing a Mac note pad
  4. Click Install
  5. If you have an SSD you might see a 10-20 minute setup price quote, if you have an HDD likely longer
  6. When the setup is total you’ll see the welcome screen with the area selector. If keeping your Mac, advance with the setup procedure. If offering or offering your Mac to another person, utilize the keyboard faster way ⌘ Q to give up the setup assistant and power your Mac down.

Read more 9to5Mac tutorials:

FTC: We utilize earnings making vehicle affiliate links. More.


Check out 9to5Mac on YouTube for more Apple news: